42°F
Sponsored by

Utah: 72-hour waiting period required for abortion

SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - A longer waiting period will be required before a woman could have an abortion in Utah under a new state law.
SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - A longer waiting period will be required before a woman could have an abortion in Utah under a new state law.

Gov. Gary Herbert has signed House Bill 461 on Tuesday, increasing the waiting period from 24 to 72 hours.

The waiting period would begin when a woman consults with a doctor anywhere in the state. It doesn't have to be the doctor who will perform the abortion.

The bill was passed by lawmakers earlier this month during the final hour of the legislative session.

American Civil Liberties Union of Utah attorney Marina Lowe says the waiting period is potentially unconstitutional because it places an undue burden on women seeking an abortion.

A similar bill in South Dakota has been put on hold by a judge.

(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus
local-businesses.png
cars.png dixie-local.jpg
Comic Con


TV Schedule Sponsored By:

Top Stories

Popular Stories on Facebook